Rennet List

printPrint Guide

Rennet, used in the cheese-making process, can come from animal, vegetable, or microbial sources.

All three types of rennet are found in Trader Joe's cheeses. Following is an explanation of each of these rennet sources accompanied by examples of the products containing the specified rennet. This is only a mere sampling of the products containing rennet that are available at your local Trader Joe's.

Animal Rennet

This enzyme is obtained from the stomach region of a suckling mammal, usually a calf or a lamb. Animal rennet is the traditional rennet used to make cheese. Most European cheeses use animal rennet.

Vegetable Rennet

Vegetable rennet is derived from plants. The enzymes are extracted from the plants and modified into a form similar to that of animal rennet. This type of rennet is acceptable for a lactovegetarian.

Microbial Rennet

This is a common enzyme made from microorganisms through a process of fermentation. Common microorganisms include fungi and bacteria. This type of rennet is also acceptable for a lactovegetarian.


  • Authentic Greek Feta
  • Blue Castello
  • Chevre
  • Comte
  • Danablue
  • Extra Sharp Cheddar
  • Fontina
  • Gruyere
  • Imported Parmesan & Romano Grated
  • Jarlsberg
  • Parrano
  • Quattro Formaggio
  • Sharp Cheddar
  • Shaved Grana Padano Parmesan
  • Shredded Sharp Cheddar
  • Sliced Jarlsberg
  • Sliced Jarlsberg Lite


  • Brie
  • Crumbled Goat Cheese
  • Light String Cheese
  • Organic Light Whipped Cream Cheese
  • Reduced Fat Sharp Celtic Cheddar
  • Shredded Parmesan
  • Sliced Colby Jack
  • Sliced Swiss


  • Baby Swiss
  • Caprese Log Mozzarella
  • Goat Gouda
  • Mild Cheddar Cheese Sticks
  • Montery Jack Cheese Sticks
  • Ovolini Mozzarella

No Rennet

  • Cream Cheese
  • Soy Cheese
  • Whipped Cream Cheese
TJ's Handy Product Guides

    The finest quality ingredients. This means:

  • NO synthetic colors
  • NO artificial flavors or preservatives
  • NO genetically modified ingredients
  • NO MSG
  • NO added Trans Fats